Canned Goods

Just fired up the dehydrator.

The smell of garlic and tomato is still on my hands.

Got me in the mood for a little Greg Brown….

Do you have any memories of helping someone in the kitchen growing up…even if it was just snapping green beans?

Do tell…

I would love to hear your story! DM

Action photo of my mom teaching me how she makes salsa

This entry was posted in christianity, enjoying life, faith, gardening, homesteading, Iowa, life, life in the country, personal, random, self sufficient, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Canned Goods

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    I used to shuck corn, snap beans, shell peas with my grandmother as a kid. I watched her do a lot of canning. Best of all, she taught me how to make corn husk dolls from the discarded corn husks and silks. πŸ™‚

  2. Deb says:

    Given the fact that my relationship with my mother was tumultuous at best I do remember her cooking. It surprises me now to look back and realize just how much she taught me about regular old homestyle meals because that was what my dad preferred, and what everyone cooked then. One memory surrounds an ancient wooden bowl that she used to chop veggies- mince actually. We had a chopper with a wooden handle and a wicked blade and it made quick work of mincing. I have no idea how old I was before I was allowed to use this device but I got pretty good at it. Also beating heavy cream for my dad’s favorite coconut cream pie. She kept some sort of ceramic bowl thing (I remember it looking like a canister without a lid to me) in the fridge all the time, even though she only whipped cream about 4 times per year. When I understood that my fingers could not go into the whirling blades on the beater until after the whipping was complete, that job became mine also. Loudest rattling noise ever when those spinning blades used to hit the side of the bowl. I sometimes sent the beater towards the sides on purpose, just to make that noise πŸ˜‰

    • DM says:

      when you beat the heavy cream….how did you know when to stop? We used to take heavy cream and shake it until it turned to butter….I’ve never seen an old wooden bowl (except those antique bread troughs…) that sort of stuff intrigues me.

      • Deb says:

        I know the bowl came from someone in the family Doug, but that’s about all. It was big though and perfect for mincing then adding whatever other ingredients were needed and mixing right in the bowl. Meatloaf comes to mind as one of the things she made in that bowl quite a bit.
        As to the cream, I never went so far as to get butter, but mom liked it to be very stiff to go on the pie. I’m sure after being watched and told when to stop I eventually figured out what to look for–definitely more firm than meringue, and sort of clumpy, but not butter clumpy. I think they would call it VERY stiff peaks now days πŸ™‚

      • Deb says:

        I just found this picture Doug, almost exactly the same bowl as we had-
        http://www.antiquepeek.com/wood_bowl_7.htm

  3. I still see two dogs waiting patiently at my dad’s feet as he carved the Sunday roast, hoping something would drop.
    I remember my great grandmother (4′ 3″) hitting by great grandfather (6’7″) with the tea towel after dirtying her sink washing his hands.
    Same grandparent threatening her spouse with the bread knife for pinchng a freshly baked scone!
    First lesson from my Mum in the kitchen was how to make gravy!

Leave a Reply

