Amish Barn Raising Pictures

This afternoon these pictures of an Amish barn raising came across our Facebook feed.  As I scrolled through the comments, I noticed the photographer (Randy Fath) said he was fine with anyone wanting to share them.

He didn’t have to tell me twice….

 

As a carpenter, (from a safety perspective),  I have mixed feelings looking at some of these images…

That is all I am going to say about that. 😉 DM

 

 

This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Amish Barn Raising Pictures

  1. Jon says:

    Thanks for sharing these DM!

  2. Deb says:

    Now that’s teamwork! I’ve often heard about these events so it was interesting to see the process in action. Thanks Doug 🙂

  3. Are these your photographs. Excellent and so beautiful…and yeah, from a carpenter’s perspective who just looked through the photos with me, he agrees. But I love to see this. How long did it take them to build the barn?

    • DM says:

      Hi Martha, Good to hear from you. In answer to your question(s) Nada..these are not my pictures…they came over our face book feed yesterday….taken by a photographer by the name of Randy Fath. He said on his post anyone looking @ them could feel free to share them…so I gave him full credit (@ the beginning of this post) and shared them with you. 😉 Any road trips planned in the near future? How’s the hubby? Did he pick up some local projects once you got back from your road trip? DM

      • Oh, I missed the accreditation. But either way, they are wonderful photos.
        As for our “road trip,” it is ongoing. We have been on the road for nearly ten months. We visited the Northwest for a few months, and have been on the road the past six weeks. We are in now in Park City Utah for a month while Ben picks up some work here. Living in a small (very small) trailer, is challenging, but I am committed to it for now.

  4. barnraised says:

    Oh, I love this! Glad you shared the photos. Part of why I chose my barnraised name 🌞

    • DM says:

      I need details! 🙂

      • barnraised says:

        I just liked the term for what it meant all around in being “barnraised”, raising my daughter in a down to earth, outdoor, unplugged, getting dirty lifestyle. But also it made me think of “barn raising” and the idea of community coming together to help each other.

      • DM says:

        Today on the radio, I heard a young woman talk about growing up in a home where her dad taught her (and her 3 sisters) to change their own flat tires, etc….and how learning those kind of basic life skills have equipped her with confidence as she entered adulthood…she talked about a time at college where she was changing a flat tire, and a young man happened to see her doing it…he commented he himself didn’t know how to do that…all of that is to say, you are giving your daughter a priceless gift by the things you are instilling in her. DM

      • barnraised says:

        Love that story. Building self confidence is so important, especially with girls! Thanks for your sweet words 🌻

Leave a Reply

