It is possible

 

I remember reading the book Ordering Your Private World by Gordon MacDonald way back in the mid 1980’s.  I remember writing out various long term life goals, mostly in the interpersonal relationship realm, but other goals as well.

At the time, we were  living 1000 miles from home, on government assistance, renting a rat invested house, driving an old car that someone had given us, living from paycheck to paycheck.  Four little kids in tow…I could go on and on…anyway, I know what it feels like to feel trapped, crushed by  stress, some of it self inflicted, some of it not.

Hope awakened in my heart after reading that book.

I knew I needed to make drastic changes.

The people pleasing part of me had to die.

Pause.

I  think it word pictures.

I remember having a word picture in my mind  of  a large ocean going vessel, headed in wrong direction.  Those ships can not turn on a dime, even if you hit the rudder hard.

It takes time to make a course correction.

I remember taping several pieces of typing paper on the wall in front of my desk, with this ship at various positions, until it was headed on a new course.

There is something exciting when ever so slightly you  begin to see a change in direction…

Long story short, saw that picture tonight  and thought, there is a nugget of wisdom I have tasted first hand.

That is my story and I’m sticking with it. 😉 DM

 

This entry was posted in country living, enjoying life, life, life in the country, personal, self sufficient, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It is possible

  1. I love the quote and your testimony of turning the ship around. I relate. My ship is still seems to be course correcting after all these years. Especially the people-pleasing part. I allowed a friend to insert herself into our travels for the entire seven months we were out by constantly texting and asking questions: “where are you, now remind me who that is, and where are you going next, and why aren’t you?…” Ad nauseum. When we came home for a regroup she asked more questions. I decided I had to finally set a boundary and create more space and less running commentary. I said it as gently as I could. She ended the friendship. Apparently it was time. I was sad, but relieved. But mostly I think I might have finally learned the lesson. Finally. I. Pray.

    • DM says:

      I appreciate you sharing this Martha. I had a relationship with someone cut out of the same cloth. Same thing happened. I felt conflicted because a part of me did enjoy some of the relationship, but another part of me started to chaff under their lack of respecting my boundaries. Didn’t want to hurt his feelings, but in the end, sale thing happened. I am relieved. Good to hear from you! DM

  2. Kristina says:

    ummm, then i would never come see you!

  3. barnraised says:

    You have mentioned this book before so it’s been on my reading list, but now I’m bumping it to the top!

Leave a Reply

