Thoughts while pruning

The

buds on

the apple tree

 starting to swell. The

honk of geese,  the raucous

caw

of

the

crows.

Aslan is  afoot.

_____________________________________________

Notes on this poem.  I was out early this week pruning.  I have between 90 and  100 semi dwarf apple trees  each season that require my attention.  The second morning I was out, I was struck by how quickly the dormant  buds were starting to  swell.  I would never have  noticed that sort of thing when I was younger.  I wasn’t out there 5 minutes, before I heard the sound of  geese.  There were 4 of them.  I tried to get my camera out  to record them as they passed overhead, but they were moving too fast.   This poem is an attempt to capture some of the joy and energy I encounter out in the orchard.

                                                                            DM   Orchardist /Poet

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thoughts while pruning

  1. Deb says:

    An interesting new side of you DM! Don’t believe I’ve ever encountered any poetry on your blogs before?

  2. It’s wonderful to suddenly notice things that we have taken for granted. I took feeding the ducks in the park as a kid a treat. Now we see them every day, watch their antics, follow their romances, rearing their young, getting all protective on their behalf from the predators that have equal rights in Nature here. Flowers, wildlife, so much to see and wonder at. Life is good. Nice poem Doug.

    • DM says:

      that’s what I’m talking about…noticing those little things (instead of just saying to yourself..”hey, there are some ducks” 😉

      • We have a little wren that is making a nest under our pontoon. I talk to her every day ( as I do the ducks, swans, geese, robins……. etc etc).

      • DM says:

        I had a little wren that made a nest in my furnace chimney/ just found it yesterday. the little bugger…that was why my shop furnace has been giving me fits.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Very nice. And you’re right. Poetry is a special way of paying attention. That’s one reason I enjoy it as I do. (I did have to look up Aslan. I still haven’t read those books.)

    • DM says:

      Good morning and thank you Linda. 🙂 I have only read 2 from the series myself. In the first book, the land of Narnia has been locked in a death grip of perpetual winter due to the curse of the wicked snow queen. then someone notices a tree starting to bud,which can only mean Aslan the ruler of that kingdom is back and on the move..

Leave a Reply

