My One Weakness

 

Farm fresh eggs are my one weakness.

(Ever see Larkrise to Candleford?… remember Doras Lane?)

Like I was just saying..farm fresh eggs are my one weakness…

What’s the point of living on a hundred year old farmstead if you don’t have chickens, right?

Nothing quite as romantic to me as pulling into the driveway and seeing the girls foraging under the apple trees.

Problem is,  they have recently gotten lazy and instead of returning to the nest to lay their eggs, they have started laying them in the most random places, so  when I do find an egg outside the nesting area  I have no idea how old it is.

We quickly went from getting 3 and 4 eggs a day to 1  or two….maybe.

I know I could refire up the “chicken tractor” but that too has it’s own set of issues.

Another problem I started having  with the girls is one of them  has  acquired a taste for farm fresh eggs.  Went to gather eggs, a few weeks ago and all I found were  a few broken pieces of shell and egg yoke.

Grrrrrrrrrrrr.

Since they are not supervised 24/7, I have no way to figure out which of them is doing it.

I have never had much success in breaking the egg eating habit in chickens  once it got started.

About the only thing that works is to  find, then eat the culprit.

Come to think about it, oven baked chicken like my grandma used to make ranks right up there as my one weakness.

When I was younger (12 yrs old )  I would get to stay over night with Grandpa and Grandma every Wednesday night.  We’d moved to the farm by then, and I was still taking piano lessons in town.  Since I’d miss the bus to get home,  Grandpa and Grandma would invite me to spend the night with them. Every week she would fix my favorite meals…Oven fried chicken was at the top of the list..then after supper Louise a widow lady who lived across the street would come over and the four  us would play  pinochle.

To this day, whenever I make grandma’s chicken or home made rye bread I think of her.  Of all the people in the world whom I have ever known, she is one of the few people I know who love me for who I am.

Grandma’s Oven Baked Chicken Recipe:

Dip individual pieces of chicken (either skin on or skin off) in egg wash..

Then coat them with crushed Ritz crackers/ or any crackers for that matter.

Side note:  I will usually grab whatever kind we have on hand, put the whole roll into a gallon plastic bag/ run the rolling pin over it until they are good and pulverized.   I will also add a little bit of seasoning salt to the cracker crumbs in the bag…

Brown the chicken in  frying pan….normally use Olive oil but have also been known to brown in butter or vegetable oil.  (Just a minute or two on each side…not wanting to actually cook the chicken/ just give them a nice looking crust)

Place the browned chicken pieces into a Pyrex bowl with lid or whatever container you like to bake in….Oven is set @ 350..for about 45 minutes.

Bake until tender.

I usually tell anyone who asks, that the chicken didn’t turn out.

That way there are  leftovers.

Wife finally figured me out a few years ago…

it took a while. she is such a kind trusting person 🙂

Now she knows if it really tastes like “you know what”, she better have a taste.

 

 

This entry was posted in apple orchard, chickens, christianity, enjoying life, family, farming, Iowa, life, love, personal, random, relationships, Uncategorized, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My One Weakness

  1. barnraised says:

    Finally have my own fresh eggs! I’ve been waiting. And I just made pancakes with them this morning. What a great feeling that was. Ours lay up in the hay!

  2. Laurie says:

    Not sure if your eggs are fresh? I float mine in a bowl of water. The older ones will float, while the fresh ones stay on the bottom of the bowl. It is interesting to check various ages as some partially float while others completely come to the top and some stay on the bottom. Check it out! (BTW, I throw out the floaters!)

  3. shoreacres says:

    Oh, I am with you on this! I love a good egg, and I’ve been without my farmer’s market eggs for a while. This weekend I got some again, and I’d forgotten how much better than are than the store-bought kind. The color, the taste, the nice yolk — it’s good to have them back. (It wasn’t the farmers, it was me — I’d been out of town and just hadn’t been able to purchase them. They’re doing it on such a large scale, they’re overrun with wonderful chickens.)

    I used to do oven baked chicken that way, and I haven’t done it in ages. I happen to have some chicken in the refrigerator, so i think I’ll give it a go tomorrow night. It really does sound good, and it’s finally cool enough that I can stand to turn the oven on.

    • DM says:

      Did you ever have chickens when you were growing up, or while in Liberia? I know you have Iowa roots, but am thinking you lived in town.. You’ll have to let me know how your chicken turns out 🙂 Just typing this is making me hungry.

      • shoreacres says:

        We did live in town, but my grandparents and their neighbors had chickens. I had a rooster in Liberia, but he was a pet. He was mouthy, too, which is why he ended up on the neighbor’s dinner table.

Leave a Reply

