Nest Building

Male House Sparrow carrying nesting material

Photo compliments of Wikimedia

Standing in front of the kitchen sink the other morning, I saw a sparrow with his beak full of nesting material….dead grass, and what looked like strands of old baler twine.   Next to him was another sparrow and a starling  with dead grass in their beaks, doing the same thing.  Building nests.

The apple trees are also coming to life.

I took a brief stroll through the orchard last night to see which trees are forming blossoms and which ones are opting to take the season off.  (Last year we had a bumper crop)  Apple trees will do that if they’ve had an extra fruitful season the year before.   (They won’t form any flowers, just new leaves.)  I look at them and think to myself..they have more sense than some of us.   They know how to pace themselves and do it without apology or excuse 🙂

I was reading a couple of short blurbs out of the latest Readers Digest to my wife this morning while we were having coffee in bed.   After I finished she said to me, “Thank you for bringing those things to the nest.”  😉

I go through spurts…sometimes I’m pretty good about investing in our relationship, and other times I fall into a rut and coast.  I do know the busier my life, the less creative energy there is to invest in anything, period.

My parents will be celebrating their 60th anniversary this coming August….60 years!  And the really beautiful thing about them as a couple is, the magic is still there.  They still go out on dates.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in apple orchard, christianity, country living, enjoying life, family, Iowa, orchard, personal, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nest Building

  1. Taking a cue from nature – funny how we forget we are part of nature too, albeit some of us seem to be a little more than others.
    M brings me coffee every morning (except for his 430 am risings – thank goodness!) It’s still a special treat after almost 7 1/2 years ☺️

  2. shoreacres says:

    That’s interesting about the fruit trees taking a “vacation.” That surely is true with our pecan trees — the ones I pay most attention to. It’s true with the oaks, too. After a heavy acorn crop, the next year will be light, even with very good conditions.

    I’ve been watching a nesting dove for some time, and was so pleased today to see that she survived our storm yesterday. And just this afternoon, I saw a mockingbird carrying twigs into a leafing tree. It’s the season!

    Just a note –it seems this image of the sparrow is from Wikimedia. Even with Wiki sources, attribution is important. I know it’s easy to forget — I’ve done it myself from time to time.

    • DM says:

      Sounds like spring has also sprung in Texas. thanks for the heads up on the photo credits. Honestly, it never entered my mind. Several years ago, when I first started blogging I got picture from someone’s page, still green when it came to internet manners and such…she was hot. said I had created a “hot link” to her site, by using the photo. I had no idea what a hot link was, nor that I done anything wrong. I apologized and quickly took it down. Thank you for saying something .

  3. Laura says:

    Welcome back! I’ve missed reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

