Musing After A Hot Date

 Girlfriend and I were out on a date last night.

 Yes it is possible to still have the warm fuzzies for each other after 35 years.

 Automatic?

Nope

Possible?

Yep.

Neither one of us was in the mood for “fancy” so we opted for Country Kitchen.    Our waitress’s name was Stormy.    She had a great attitude,  nothing flashy, just upbeat and pleasant, gave us the kind of attention that makes you want to leave a good tip.

      I woke up this morning still thinking about Stormy’s attitude.

Why?

Because  meeting someone with a good attitude is both rare and refreshing.   Some of you reading this have one, which is why I love your blogs! 😉

While I’m not a motivational speaker, I have discovered a few things about attitudes that are operational in my life, the last blog post not withstanding.

Quick bunny trail – I am of the persuasion all of us sputter on occasion.  Sputter as in getting into a funk.  Nothing quicker than a health set back, to get my attention and see what I am really made of.  Which is why I am not ashamed to ask for help when I need it.  90% 80%  of the time I am Michael Jordan on the court of life.  I can’t miss, but when  that is not happening, I get quiet.  But that ends up painting a sanitized version of my life.

It is not real.

And I LOVE real, which is how I want to live my life.

Paul the writer of several letters in the New Testament put it like this:

“For I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound in any and every circumstance,  I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance, and need.” 

  “I  have learned.” He was talking about learning to have an attitude of contentment.   At the time he wrote that, he was languishing in a jail.

Having raised 4 children on a carpenter’s  income I can tell you, I have not always been content.  We were paying more on rent than what mortgage payment would have been.  It was driving me nuts. We were living in New Jersey when it came to a head.   I was building new homes for people  driving BMW’s and Mercedes.    (At that time in history, there was no such thing as no  down payment, you needed at least 5%).  The churning discontent, and frustration  anger  were wearing me out.

I chose to be thankful for what we had.

It worked.

The anger dissipated.

Someone recommended  Strengthening Your Grip  and it changed the quality of  my life.

Here is a portion:
“The longer I live,the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes,than what other people think of, say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company…a church…. a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past…we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude…I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you..we are in charge of our attitudes.”

___________________________________________________________

Here is the picture I’m currently sporting on our Facebook header.  It speaks life to me.  It was taken in Europe from the area my ancestors are from.  (Ostfriesland, which translated literally means “the free lands”)    I’ve written about it before -, powerful story.

germany where I am from

Hope you have a great 2015!  DM

This entry was posted in enjoying life, faith, life, personal, spirituality, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Musing After A Hot Date

  1. Nice picture, NO PEOPLE!
    I read this and smiled because it is so unlike me..
    I’ve never understood how someone can accept the unacceptable with good grace.
    Drives SWMBO to distraction, poor girl.
    Yet I know people in poverty and pain who accept their “role and place in life” and carry on smiling. It’s that smile some get when they’ve lost and they know it. That smile that says “whatever” when a few years ago “whatever” would have riled them.

    It’s that very smile that politicians love to see as they shaft you some more and tell you “You’ve never had it so good”.

    It’s the same smile of the sheeple as they vote for a promised pot of gold.

    As for Paul “languishing in a jail.”
    Except people go into jail and come out as one of two, broken or mad as hell.
    Problem I’ve got is working out how he came out.
    Ultimately he ended up in the big city and writings say that Paul was beheaded during the reign of Nero. A do gooder in the time when such meant certain death, at the hands of big business aka Rome. Not a lot of difference to now than then is there?

    p.s. I hope you tipped Stormy well.
    ____________________
    We did tip her quite well 😉
    Yes that picture looks like heaven to me too.
    I am impressed w/ your knowledge of the good book and the story of Paul.
    Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. DM

  2. shoreacres says:

    I loved hearing that reference to Country Kitchen. There was one not far from my folks’ place in Newton, and one of the last trips my mom and I made back home to visit, we ate there.

    And I couldn’t help remembering this:

    The only other thing I’d add is that having a positive attitude doesn’t mean living the life of a doormat. I can get as sick of the hucksters selling a false optimism or a passive acceptance of wrongs as the next person, and more than a few times I’ve suggested to someone a little less saccharine might be a good thing. Honesty and forthrightness are part of what makes someone appealing.
    ______________________
    I get the gag reflex when I am around “fake/ Pollyanna. Honesty and forthrightness are where it’s at w/me as well. that video clip reminded me of American Bandstand my mom used to watch…and those pants reminded me of some I bought when I was going into High School 🙂 DM

  3. Jane Fritz says:

    Happy New Year, Doug. Your blog posts are among the very, very few I still get in my email, and they always speak to me. I love the way you reflect on, analyze, and respond to life’s challenges and articulate your ponderings so well. Keep them coming. I wish you every happiness in the year ahead. Jane
    _________________________________

    Thank you Jane! Appreciate your kind words. Made my day. DM

  4. emjayandthem says:

    Your posts always speak to me because you analyze and think out loud about things – If we ever met in person I think we’d never run out of things to ponder on.

    That photo is breathtaking – makes me wish I was sipping coffee to that view ….

    Happy New Year!
    MJ
    _________________________]
    Thank you MJ. Appreciate your kind words…you never know, someday our paths may just cross..then we can do coffee (starbucks) and compare notes on what it was like growing up on the farm. I want to hear about life on the Canadian Praire! More details.. (blog post?) Thanks DM

  5. Bill says:

    We’ve been fortunate to have that kind of relationship too. With all the benefits of nearly 27 years of marriage behind us, we’re still like newlyweds in important ways. I suspect the lessons we’ve learned about contentment have helped. 🙂

    All best wishes for a wonderfully happy 2015!

Leave a Reply

