The Hazards of backyard Hens

Posting this for a couple of my regular readers.

You know who you are. πŸ˜‰

Lest you think you’re the only one in need of “intervention”, here are a few recent shots from our place:

IMG_1364

Son John telling Jake he needs to go back outside.

IMG_1376

Jake sneaking into our entryway to visit our resident poet.

friends

Jake, myself and Libby.Β 

Jake is jealous of Libby (we think) and started strolling into the entry and pecking Libby without provocation.Β  I am attempting to talk some sense into Jake, before Libby says, “enough is enough” and takes him out. Β Β  Jake is not interested and won’t listen as you can see by his body language.

standoff

Jake and Libby in a recent stand off

I didn’t get a picture because it happened so fast, but Jake actually marched into our kitchen this week when I left the door open for a moment.Β  Call me crazy but he looked like a suitorΒ  wanting to see his woman…Β  (Danielle Gasparro.)

That will have to do it for now.Β  As always, appreciate any comments or “likes.”Β  Love to know someone is actually reading this stuff. ;-)DM

This entry was posted in chickens, country living, enjoying life, humor, life in the country, self sufficient, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Hazards of backyard Hens

  1. emjayandthem says:

    You will begin “Personifying your Poultry” — HA HA HA ! This was hilarious!

    I can see Jake’s personality in the photos. The dog is smart to stand back πŸ™‚

    MJ
    ___________________
    Jake is definitely an “alpha” DM

  2. Meredith says:

    Too funny. We have no pets or working animals on our vegetable farm but the wild animals keep us pretty well entertained!
    ______________________________
    thanks Meredith! :-)DM

  3. micey says:

    The last photo is hysterical! I can even hear the little whistle in my head from some old cowboy movie. Don’t know which one. Maybe a Clint Eastwood movie or John Wayne. Wish I could whistle it here in the comment. You’d know it in a minute. πŸ˜€
    ___________________________
    I know which one you are talking about DM πŸ™‚

  4. shoreacres says:

    I think maybe perhaps micey means this one. It came to mind immediately when I got to that last photo. Chickens and roosters just crack me up – they’re such personalities!
    _____________________
    Love it! I tried to find something on youtube and couldn’t.. πŸ™‚ DM

    • micey says:

      Ha! It is from a Clint Eastwood movie! That is totally the song I was thinking of. Hahahahaha!
      ________________________
      Awesome

  5. Linda says:

    love the drama!!! and the pictures…Jake is so handsome but looks dangerous. HE would intimidate me!
    _________________________
    and he would pick that up (your fear) in a heart beat and have you running for the door πŸ˜‰ DM

  6. oceannah says:

    πŸ™‚ Jake is a hoot.
    *anna
    __________________
    I just love his personality.

  7. SaraC says:

    These are hilarious pictures, especially the one of Jake looking askance at the camera as he stands in the doorway! Ha! My zany hens are getting even sillier in the horrible heat wave we’ve been having. They follow me everywhere, and the other day definitely tried to follow me into the house where it was (sort of) cooler. They were very offended when I refused their entry. I wish I’d had my camera…
    ________________________________
    So are the rest of your hens just for laying eggs or are some of them destined for the stew pot? DM

  8. Bill says:

    When I was growing up we had a rooster named Jack who thought he was a dog. Or so we said. He slept on the ground next to the dogs (rather than roosting). He would run with our dogs to meet us at the school bus. He was quite the character. He often had no tail feathers, due to his tussles with our dogs.

    Reading about Jake brought up memories of Jack. πŸ™‚

    And your Libby looks a lot like our Ginny. The first time Ginny saw chicks she immediately went after them. All it took was a good scolding and she learned that they’re off limits. Now she peacefully coexists with the chickens (as it seems Libby does).

    I love the photo of the three of you on the bench. 3 species living in harmony. πŸ™‚
    __________________________
    Thanks Bill. Yea I had the same thought as I was sitting on the bench playing moderator. Something profound was going on @ that moment. DM

  9. westernwoman says:

    I love my chickens! I am too busy right now to sit and watch them (3 very little children) but I enjoy to no end watching my kids play with the chickens until we get so cold we can’t feel our fingers! They (animals and kids, both) are so entertaining and good for each other. I should call it Backyard Therapy. Not to mention the enormous benefits to health, budget, garden, the environment, etc.
    _________________________________________________
    3 Little ones will definitely keep you busy πŸ™‚ (we raised 4) Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! DM

  10. Betsy says:

    Awesome video!

  11. I’ve seen that video before – cracked me up. Jake is my kind of rooster. We have Jose’ and he’s quite the ladies man. I’ve seen that same look on Jose’s face when I take eggs from the nest boxes. He does not appreciate me limiting his progeny…

Leave a Reply

