Pumpkin beer

On Thursday, Jason asked me if I would  drink a pumpkin beer with him after work the next day?

While I am not a “tea-teetotaler” my alcoholic consumption in a  year is probably less than   4 or 5 drinks….

To clinch the deal he adds, “By the way,  there’s a quote on the bottle by Thoreau about pumpkins, and it IS pumpkin season ;-)


“What the heck
I told him...bring me one…..”

So Friday after work I had my first pumpkin beer.

The taste  wasn’t half bad/ pretty mellow as far as beers go…about 1/3 of the way into the bottle he tells me…“By the  way, this stuff has an 8% alcohol content in it, so it has more “kick”than a regular beer.

Boy he wasn’t kidding…

Within a couple of minutes  I was feeling no pain. It took a good 2 hours before the effects wore off.

I haven’t had a hangover in 30 years.  Don’t miss those days one bit.

Looking back, the  turning point for me, came when I began dating my future wife.   We were out for pizza one night…I looked across the table at her and thought, Boy ,she would probably drop me like a hot potato if she knew some of the stuff I was doing…..

The decision was  simple…I walked away from the booze, the weed and the little diet pills and never looked back.

Today my drink of choice is coffee.

Starbucks French Roast if you’re looking for any gift ideas ;-)

It’s  legal, affordable and I don’t wake up with a splitting headache.

Our kids grew up in a home where heavy drinking was not the norm.  There was  too much heartache in both of our families related to alcohol.  I was telling my wife about the pumpkin beer Saturday night…told her  how thankful I was she rarely drinks…

I am of the persuasion there is nothing wrong with an occasional drink.

The issue for me is control.

I’m completely convinced the bible does not teach total abstinence.  You have to really do some linguistical   contortions to come to that conclusion.

On the other hand, alcohol is so subtle in its ability to enslave a person.   I’ve watched it happen to at least three people near and dear to me.

Early in our marriage wife and I made a decision to not drink  unless the other person was there or  on rare occasion, we were at some kind of family gathering.

We were both on the same page with that idea….I’m not talking about being sticks in the mud, I’m talking about setting up simple boundaries so as not to get sucked into something you’d regret later…

I’m in construction.  Stopping @ the bar on the way home at the end of a long day was what we did.

Before I was married I did it regularly.

Now, not a chance.

I can still remember sitting in The Office  watching Dave, a family friend  make lovey-dovey eyes with  some young lady 1/2 his age.  Pretty sure it was someone from work.  He had no idea I was there…his wife was a good friend of my mom…..

I told Jason on Friday,  when I’m out  in public, the last thing I want to be is fuzzy headed.  I want to be on my game.

I was telling my 25 yr old son about all of this yesterday….I told him, there is a part of me that would love to make my own wine, or even moonshine for that matter.  I am intrigued by the whole  fermentation process.  My grandpa even gave me the family recipe for moonshine. My concern is, I would like the stuff.

This entry was posted in enjoying life, faith, life, personal, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pumpkin beer

  1. Bill says:

    Yep, I can relate to this. I drank an ocean of beer during college and for a while I tried keeping up that lifestyle in the working world. Too many bleary mornings and judgment-impaired evenings eventually put an end to it. Thankfully. Now I have a glass of wine or a drink before bed at night, but I never drink alcohol in public, even at parties. I just don’t like feeling any loss of control. I know that it doesn’t have that effect on everyone, and I wouldn’t presume to tell others how to manage their social drinking. But for me, I agree with you. I don’t want to be fuzzy in public.

    great post.
    ________________________
    Good morning Bill, thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I just stopped by your blog and did some reading. We share a lot of common interests. Great newspaper article/ link as well. Wish we lived closer, I would love to talk shop with you more. DM

  2. emjayandthem says:

    I’m with you in that when I do drink, I am very careful about how much and with who. I never drink at work functions, and have learned to avoid it at family functions, too. At home with the hubbs on occasion – works for me!

    Great post! MJ
    _____________________________
    Thanks MJ. I love hearing your perspective on these lifestyle choices. DM

  3. micey says:

    Yup. Me and alcohol got divorced about 8 years ago. The first real wise decision I ever made as an adult. 🙂
    _______________________________
    Great way to put it! Always fun to hear from you Micey. DM

  4. shoreacres says:

    Way back in the day – like in the 60s – I was a smoker. I didn’t smoke all that much. It was more a social thing, and a bit of an affectation. But one day, a fellow said, “If you don’t quit, I’ll never go out with you again.” Apparently the right motivation can help a good bit. I’ve never smoked since!

    I stopped drinking completely for about fifteen years. I had to let red wine go first, because of headaches. Then, I had a few experiences of being the only sober one in a bar. I looked around and thought, “This isn’t for me, either”. Now, I do enjoy some of the craft beers that are brewed here in Houston, and keep those in the fridge, but I never drink while I’m working, writing, or potentially driving, so that keeps it pretty limited.

    I do love a beer with a seafood dinner, and a margarita with Mexican. If I’m not driving, I indulge. And a good dark ale with a stack of magazines? The best.

    Now, if I only could be so reasonable when it comes to ice cream. I finally had to stop bringing the stuff in the house. A pint of gelato and a spoon? I’m there!
    _____________________
    You’ve touched on something important…motivation(s) One man’s (womans) weakness is child’s play to the next. Thanks for weighing in on this one. DM

Leave a Reply

