Thoughts on the approaching blizzard

As I write this, a blizzard  is barreling our way.

8 to 12 inches of snow, with sustained winds of 35 miles per hour with higher gusts possible.

White out conditions.  Travel not advised.

_____________________________

I LOVE blizzards.

I really do.

Must be a guy thing I told my wife last week.

My face book involvement has tapered off quite a bit the past few weeks…but I did happen to get on and leave a comment about my love for winter storms a couple of days ago.  Someone took offense @ my  comment so I deleted it.  When I hear people whine about the weather it has the same effect on me as finger nails on a chalk board….

Here’s the deal when it comes to winter weather from MY perspective…since you won’t hear about it on my facebook page 😉

I  love the 4 seasons.  And that includes winter

I’m a contractor and 90% of my work is outside….all winter long.  So  not only do I get to drive in the stuff, but I get to to work in it.  The trick is to dress in layers  and keep dry.  it’s really not that hard to do.

I love to feel the rush of  the wind and  snow sticking to my beard while I’m warm and cozy inside my carhart bib’s and hooded coat.

I love getting into my  truck,  locking it into 4 wheel drive and busting drifts.

The wood shed is 3/4’s full so in the unlikely event the electricity does go down, we have enough wood to stay warm for  a couple of months.

The pantry is full.  I was craving turkey yesterday morning so when my wife came home from the store she surprised me with a 22 pound butter ball turkey.

Sorted apples yesterday and discovered we still  have 7 or 8 bushels left over from the 2012 harvest…so there’s plenty of fresh fruit for quite a while.  Mrs DM talked about making some home made applesauce last night….now that is aroma therapy @ it’s finest. 🙂

So for the record….if you don’t like winter storms , keep it to yourself.

Here are a few pictures from previous winters…we don’t have any snow yet or I would include them here….

asparagus gone to seed

Asparagus going to seed in my raised garden bed

neighbor snowblowing  us out2

Now that’s a snow blower 🙂  Our neighbor showed up last winter (without us calling him) and cleaned out our driveway in less that 3 minutes. I love living in Iowa.

view of house through the trees

This is a view of our house from the West. That’s a deer fence in the foreground.  Trying to replace it today (before the blizzard get’s here) with an 8 ft barrier deer fence…not sure I have enough time to pull it off today, but I’ll give it my best shot.

winter08cornstockbales

Corn stalk bales just east of our place.  They reminded me of giant breakfast cereal.

Haven’t had the time or inspiration to do much writing the past few weeks…I do have another blog post rumbling around in my head about our pet chicken Jake I need to write.  He got a giant letter in the mail from a group of first graders  two weeks ago who asked if he would send them a picture of himself and be their pen pal.  He jumped @ the chance.  🙂

I’m hoping to post not only their letter but his reply as well.

Well, thanks for stopping by the blog.   DM

This entry was posted in enjoying life, faith, Iowa, life, life in the country, personal, self sufficient, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thoughts on the approaching blizzard

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’ve been thinking about you and my Iowa roots for about 24 hours – ever since I first saw the word “blizzard” in the forecast. You’re not alone. I LOVE snow and blizzards, too, despite the problems they bring.

    The best one ever happened when I was in grade school, so roughly 1951-1954. At my grandparents’ house in Melcher – where we happened to be when the decision was made not to return home to Newton – the drifts on the south side of the house were literally up to the roof. The back door, the pump and the utility room were on that side, and somehow the men shoveled a path to that door! I can remember it vividly, with those huge walls of snow on either side.

    I think the road must have been scoured clean a ways from the house. They must have started there, and worked their way to the house. It was *Wonderful*!

    Let’s play word association: you say “blizzard”, and I’ll say, “fireplace”, “cocoa”, “lanterns”, “cookies”, “books”. And then, eventually, I’ll think of “shoveling”, “snow plow” and “cabin fever”!

    Love the photos!

    • DM says:

      You touched on something there w/ the word association game 🙂 I also have several “warm and cozy” feelings when it comes to blizzards. I”m glad I’m not the only person who loves them. Sure, after an extended time a person can get a little stir crazy..but a few days worth can be magical…

  2. Jane Fritz says:

    Nice post. I am also a winter-lover, although I like the other seasons too. Thanks for sharing your observations. Great photos! Happy holidays to you.
    __________________
    Thanks Jane! Fall is actually my favorite season. Happy Holidays to you too. DM

  3. singlemamalife says:

    I love the first snowfall! Especially since this one will give us a picture perfect white christmas! I have promised HJ we could build a snowman, he can’t wait 🙂
    __________________________________
    Thanks Singlemama. Christmas when the kids are little does add a special magic to everything. make sure you post some pictures of the snow man 🙂 DM

  4. jacsmum says:

    I love all 4 seasons too! I like to play in snow, but not work in it. I love to look at it including storms from the warm comfort of inside my house. You should repost on facebook and not care that people gripe. They don’t have to look at it and you can always delete their comments…you know! Enjoy! I love your landscapes.
    _________________________
    Good to hear from you Jacsmum…I love the term “mum” I’m guessing it has English roots right? 😉 Thanks for stopping by. DM

  5. I love and miss the four seasons. I grew up in Des Moines and remember the wonderful times there. Many times we would visit an older couple, who were like Grandparents, they owned a farm in Union. One trip we had to travel home in a “blizzard”. It wasnt really but to us kids it was! What great memories! I hope to return to Iowa in the future. It truly is a wonderful, beautiful place. Take Care!
    ___________________________________
    Thanks for taking the time to let me know you were here and read this one 🙂 DM

  6. emjayandthem says:

    I love all 4 seasons, too — people thought hubbs and I were crazy when we packed up from Houston and headed back to the midwest. The wind is roaring outside right now, rain now and snow coming later .. maybe a white Christmas after all? 🙂

    Your round bale photos remind me of home 🙂

    MJ
    _____________________
    And your pictures (both word pictures and real ones) also remind ME of my home growing up 😉 DM

  7. Rosanna says:

    “I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently?” Alice in Wonderland.

    I read this book more than I should and always pause over this line. Only if you stood at your window looking out at the snow (or blizzard!) can you imagine that phrase.
    I am glad I know winter. In some ways it makes me a better person. I have to slow down. I have to wait. I have to change my plans. I have to make plans for self-sufficiency.

    I am sorry for those who mocked it. They can’t see the snow kissing the fields.
    ________________________
    Rosanna, those are awesome quotes! thanks for sharing 🙂 DM

  8. Bill says:

    I definitely understand your sentiment. I love the seasons too. Not sure I’d love a blizzard though. Our winters are pretty mild here in comparison to yours, but I do enjoy them. The short days are nice too for catching up on rest.
    We lived in Florida for many years. It was amazing to us how many people complained bitterly about the heat and the weather. 90% of them moved to Florida. Why move to Florida if you don’t like the heat?
    Great photos, by the way.

Leave a Reply

