Evening Shadows

evening after the rain

Evening

shadows play

outside my window.

In the past, I was too busy

to notice or stop

to savor the

moment.

________________________________

sunset after the rain

View to the West

sunset

Out behind the barn.

________________________
Update 5/6/2-14   What you have here is me attempting to capture some thoughts I had Monday night after a rain shower, however stammering and unpolished it may be.  The shadows right before sunset were beautiful.  It wasn’t until I was probably in my  late 40′s that I began to pay attention to stuff like that.  DM

About DM

sitting on my grandpa's farm porch with Feedie
This entry was posted in enjoying life, faith, Iowa, personal, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Evening Shadows

  1. emjayandthem says:

    Remember the words to Simon & Garfunkel’s “Slow down .. you move too fast .. you’ve got to make the moment last … ” (Feeling groovy)

    Slowing down and absorbing nature’s beauty always makes me feel groovy, thanks DM!

    and I loved your poem :)
    MJ
    _____________________
    thanks MJ! I’m guessing you are sitting @ your mom’s kitchen table right about now enjoying some good conversation. Can’t wait to hear how your trip went when you get back. DM

  2. Lovely photos. Just yesterday as I sat on the porch swing at 5:14 PM CST to be exact I saw the shadows play on our back yard fence. Like reading clouds, I read a fish on the left and a dog on the right. I ran in to get my camera and by 5:15 they were gone! I guess as the old adage goes, “You had to have been there” to know what I’m talking about.
    ___________________________
    Thanks Georgette. Mrs DM and I were outside taking a walk this week and she saw a “turkey” in the clouds. I did too but mine was on it’s back and her’s was not :-)

  3. shoreacres says:

    I love Georgette’s comment. I’ve always been a cloud watcher. When we were kids, we’d lay in the grass and watch them pass by, looking for shapes.

    Your photos are just wonderful, and the words are a perfect complement. I like them all, but I think the view to the west is my favorite.
    ______________________________
    Thanks Linda!. @ some point I would love to get a better camera, but for now, my little Cannon 560A powershot/ point and shoot will have to do ;-) DM

  4. Beautiful words and pictures. :)
    ____________________
    Thanks Kelsey! DM

  5. Bill says:

    I lived most of my life being too “busy” to appreciate the everyday beauties of life. I too was in my late 40s when I began to change. It’s still a work in progress, but I’m much better now.

    Great post. It resonates.
    __________________
    Thanks Bill! funny thing my blog posts go to “blogowogo which is a blog clearing house where they are rated from 0 to 5..this post did not fare well on the ratings so I especially appreciated your affirmation :-) DM

Leave a Reply

