Slow Days

winter onions

Winter onions

onions, taters and farm fresh eggs

taters and onions just out of the ground and farm fresh eggs

winter onions

Winter Onions all chopped and ready to go

_________________________________

Woke up this morning again to the sound of mourning doves (yes they are spelled mourning, not morning)  in the distance.   There is  a 70% chance of rain in the forecast so that means I’m staying home, working in the wood shop building tables.   The crew isn’t scheduled to get here till 9 AM, so I’m writing this as my farm fresh breakfast is slowly cooking on the griddle.

Several years ago my mom gave me a few “winter onions” as she called them.  They’re slowly becoming one of my favorite Springtime crops.  I don’t have to do a thing with them. Period.

Fresh potatoes are also on the menu this morning.  I dug them 2 weeks ago after leaving them in the ground over winter under heavy mulch. (about 2 feet of old hay.)  I’d read about it but never tried this before myself and was skeptical.   This past winter was one of the more brutal winters on record. The frost usually goes down about 3 foot around here, but this year it was over 6 foot in places.  I supposed those potatoes I left in the ground under that much would surely freeze and  turn to mush once the ground started to thaw.

Surprise-  they didn’t turn to mush. In fact, they were as crisp and firm as any potato you’ve ever had, where as the ones I’d dug and put in the basement last fall are all getting soft, starting to form some eyes right now.

So my intentions for this coming season are to harvest potatoes in 3 phases:  New potatoes when they first start to set,  dig in the fall like normal, and leave a good portion in the ground till next spring under heavy mulch.  In theory, we could have relatively fresh potatoes all season long without needing to keep them in a frig.

And finally,  we got another 3 dozen farm fresh eggs delivered yesterday from our neighbor Nicole.   (Thank you Nicole!)  For me, farm fresh eggs are one of the simple pleasures of life.

I love slow days like today.  Wish those of you who are regular readers (who are interested) could join me for a cup of coffee and conversation on mornings like this.  Kristina (whom I wrote about last week)  did spend a few days with us recently.  She messaged me on Facebook when she heard me puttering around in the kitchen and asked if we could bring her some coffee. :-)  60 seconds later, Mrs DM headed upstairs to the B and B suite with a fresh cup.

Now that is living the dream.

Well, the taters are done, and I need to get moving.

 

About DM

sitting on my grandpa's farm porch with Feedie
This entry was posted in enjoying life, faith, family, Iowa, life in the country, organic, personal, self sufficient, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slow Days

  1. Laura says:

    I love slow days too. Unfortunately this isn’t one of them. Eating my cereal as I read this, then headed off to work. Enjoy your breakfast, looks yummy!
    _____________________
    Hi Laura, I read your comment and changed the title of the post :-)
    (from farm fresh to slow days) How was your day @ work? DM

  2. Kristina says:

    hasn’t been a slow day since i got home. wishing i was still there. with my coffee in bed. :)
    _______________________________ :-)

  3. You are making me hungry! Guess I’ll have to get some of my soft potatoes out of the basement and fry them up with fresh eggs and home-cured bacon. Although my potatoes have gone soft, they still taste better than store-bought. I really like your extended potato season idea. It gets so wet here I’ll need to plant my winter potatoes in a somewhat protected area to keep them from turning to mush.
    No slow days around here so I’ll just have to enjoy them through you.
    _______________________
    ;-) DM

  4. Val says:

    Do you know how to facetime? If so, we should schedule a coffee date – but not TOO early in the morning
    _________________________
    Daughter Angie does face time with her husband…we are still behind the times here…just flip phones, no ipad nor video cam for the computer..but that is a great idea..if and when we ever upgrade I will let you know and schedule an early morning conference call ;-) DM

  5. Nice strategy. We will give it a try too. Anything that extends harvest and moves some of the workload to slower days is a good thing!
    ___________________________
    I’ll be curious how it works for you guys..I know you have a much milder winter..does it freeze there Michael? DM

  6. shoreacres says:

    I had your breakfast for supper tonight. Well, except only the eggs and onions were farm fresh. The potato I added had to come from a store.

    Don’t I remember you talking about a woman who wrote a book or two about that mulching practice? Whether or not my memory serves me, it sounds like the practice has done well for you.
    There’s a lot of mulching going on around here right now, for another reason. The summer heat is on the way, and properly mulched trees and plants do much better under the stress.

    • DM says:

      you remember correctly ;-) Her name was Ruth Stout” There was a series of articles written by her in the Organic Farmer magazine. She was a pistol and called it like she saw it. she didn’t want anyone to put her on a pedestal and said she just reported what she observed, didn’t claim to be an expert. Google her name and see what comes up if you’re curious.

Leave a Reply

