Heirloom Apple Tree contest

In 2009 I stumbled across an old apple orchard just west of my parents farm.  Fifteen or twenty trees in the middle of nowhere   A couple of old foundations still barely visible peeked through the underbrush.

I love history.

I also have a “budding” interest in grafting. ;-)

Long story short, I ordered some rootstock and grafted some cuttings off one of the apple trees that really piqued my interest.  The apples were almost white,   crisp and sweet.  Here’s what they looked like:

All 10 grafts took, but the rabbits got 5 of them.  Last week was pruning time and I’m thinking it’s time to permanently plant these heirloom trees in the ground.  Sure I could probably find a spot to plant all of them but I love to share.

I have no idea what their “official” name might be so here’s what I’m thinking….an heirloom apple tree contest.

Two prizes.  First prize….you win one of the trees.  Just have to pay for shipping.  (Let’s say $5.00)

Second prize…naming rights.  You get to name the tree variety..and for as long as I have the orchard, I will always call these trees by the winning name.

Here’s what I’m thinking….to enter, send me a short essay on why you’d like one of the trees....I know I have several new readers who love to garden/ grow things, etc. so a new heirloom apple tree might be just what you’re looking for.  For now, just put “I’m in” in the comment thread and I’ll know if I have any takers.  I’ll e-mail you back so you can submit it to me via e-mail. DM

Typically, we plant new trees in early April, so we have a little over a month to have this contest.  Today is February 24th.  I’d want to have your essay  by March 15th

Here’s a few other apple pictures I’ve taken the past few years to prime your creative pumps:

Apples in bloom 2011

Royal Court’s


Ginger Gold’s

Bountiful harvest

Gala’s

Liberty variety

About DM

sitting on my grandpa's farm porch with Feedie
This entry was posted in apple orchard, enjoying life, History, orchard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heirloom Apple Tree contest

  1. jean says:

    Well, I live way down south in the Caribbean so I don’t think you could send the apple tree to me. But,am commenting because I love that you are doing what you are in growing your food. Wouldn’t it be nice if more people would grow their food? The apples in your photos look good and I can just taste the crispness in my mouth. All the best in your end endeavors!
    _________________________________________
    We planted the apple trees on a lark..I am still learning and amazed at how nice many of them turn out…growing our own food is so rewarding. I was looking @ your honey bee pictures on your blog…maybe some day….I would love to have bees but it will have to wait for now. DM

  2. Lis says:

    Oh I’m in! I’ll get to work on my essay ASAP! How exciting!
    __________________________________________________________
    Lis, you have a pretty good chance by the look of the entry’s so far. DM :-)

  3. felix says:

    Wow!! my son and I are planting a new garden from scratch and to include fruit trees. We’re just learning about heirloom plants and trees and are very interested, we have several trees waiting to be planted that we picked up from lowe’s. but we will be sending them back and replacing them
    with some sort of heirloom trees and to include all our seedlings. I know were late on the essay competition. But your fruit looks great and we would love the opportunity to share in your wealth.

  4. Kelly Wambach says:

    I’d be interested in what zone you live in. I’m in a reliable Minnesota zone 4.
    Last October I visited my Great Great grandfathers abandoned farmstead (late 1800s) and discovered two white apple trees. The apples were the size of a large crabapple. So far no luck identifying what they might be. Have you had any luck identifying your apple?
    Because of the time of year grafting was out, but I cut a few 8 inch new growth branches and decided I would try to root them. I placed them in a jar of well water. No hormones. They developed what appears to be small nodes of what I’m assuming will be roots. I have since planted them in pots with a rooting compound which I keep covered loosely with plastic. So far so good! The twigs are still green. I’m crossing my fingers that I will be able to plant at least one tree this spring.
    I now have a lead on another pioneer farm near by with old apple trees. Sounds like a winter road trip coming up for me.
    __________________________________
    We are right on the boarder of zone 4-5
    Good luck w/ your young trees :-) I do not have the variety identified.. but that is SO Exciting to hear you have direct ties to that orchard going back that many generations…keep me posted! DM

Leave a Reply

